My Comfort Food

As promised I’m back for week five, armed with my favourite recipe. This week I unravel the mystery of Butter Chicken. The name Butter Chicken is probably deceiving and let me tell you the recipe involves more than just putting some butter on a piece of chicken. The name Butter Chicken is the literal English translation of Murgh Makhni. This dish is a delicacy in Northern India and originated in Punjab (northern province in India). Now you know something about this dish 😀

This is my favourite dish because it reminds me of home and my mom. My mom makes this dish better than the stuff that you can get in restaurants here. The best Butter Chicken is supposed to be spicy not sweet unlike the way it is made here. I also remember eating this food as a child and it was always my favourite thing to eat. Every year for my birthday dinners I have always gotten my mom to make this for me. This dish is definitely one of my family’s favourite and we always have this during special occasions. This is also special to me because this was the only thing that I would willingly eat as a child and something that my mom would not have to threaten or force me to eat. Now without further ado the recipe.

Ingredients:

Chicken

Lemon Juice

Red Chilli Powder

Garlic and Ginger Paste

Butter

Salt

Yogurt

Green Chillies

Garam Masala and Garam Masala Powder

Tomato Puree

Dry Fenugreek Leaves

Cream

Oil

Preparation:

For the marinade mix together ginger-garlic paste, red chilli powder, yogurt, lemon juice, garam masala powder and oil. Apply this marinade to the chicken pieces and refrigerate for three to four hours.

Preheat oven to 350C and put in the chicken pieces for 10-12 minutes or until almost cooked through.

Remove the chicken from the oven, baste with butter and then put back in the oven for another 2 minutes

For the gravy, heat butter in a pan. Add green cardamoms, cloves, peppercorns and cinnamon (this is garam masala). Sauté for two minutes, add ginger-garlic paste and chopped green chillies. Cook for two minutes. Add tomato puree, red chilli powder, garam masala powder, salt and one cup of water. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer for ten minutes. Add dry fenugreek leaves and the cooked chicken pieces. Mix together the gravy and the chicken pieces. Serve with rice or naan

Enjoy while it is hot!!

p.s. google butter chicken to see what it looks like , trust me it is the best thing you will ever taste

Leave a Reply

