St. Lucia’s Cultural Dessert

Today I’d like to talk about a special tropical dessert known as pemmie. This dessert has a unique taste compare to the other tropical foods and desserts. When I was young my mother used to make this dessert weekend  in St. Lucia. In St. Lucia pemmie is actually considered a family dish. By just looking at my mother I thought it was  hard to cook, but it turns out it actually easy to cook. At first it might as well seem hard,but once you get the hang of it you will start realizing it just got easier. Sometimes my family  suddenly get ideas to make the recipe better. But if you ask me I thnk to might like the orignal recipe will taste a lot better.

Recipe:

corn meal

grated coconut

grated pumpkin

sugar

essence

milk

start mixing

use banana leafs then boil it with salt

Now that you’ve seen the recipe I would suggest you should  try it. When start to taste this dish you might start to like the flavor which will make you want more. Another thing people should know about pemmies is that people keep the banana leafs then tie it with a piece of string to make it look nice and delicious that the  people  that looking at it can find it interesting. If You’re wondering about the why we use the essence, it is used to give the pemmie flavor.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Baasima on August 3, 2011 at 9:45 pm

    Winston, this sounds like a really good dish! You should think about bringing it to the potluck or even just for lunch one day. I’m sure the rest of your teammates would like to try it as well. Also, it sounds like your mother usually makes it, but now that you have cooking experience I’m sure you could too 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

