My Favorite Moment!

Hey! I’m back again this week with a new topic! “My favorite moment from the past three weeks”. Immediately what comes to mind is the Youth Garden Drop in. Just this past week we (The Youth Green Squad) made a salad made of herbs, greens, and edible flowers. To be honest, I am not a HUGE fan of salads, especially one’s without croutons! Plus I’ve had a lot of bad experiences eating dry salads.ย  But, I was glad to see that we had bread available to make croutons. I ended up trying a bit of it and I think I’m sort ofย  fan now. This was my favorite moment because I never thought I’d change my opinion on salads., and the fact that 99% of the salad was made up of “homegrown” food. ๐Ÿ™‚

Wednesday of last week, we (The Youth Green Squad) got to be apart of CAMH’s Anti-Racism workshop. I met Randy, a member of the community and he really opened my eyes on how having a community garden is such a great and beneficial idea in many ways because not only are people given the opportunity to have a garden. But, indirectly the barriers people sometimes unintentionally put up around themselves when it comes to meeting newcomers is torn down. Reason being, having a garden that’s open to the community it’s hard not to have to interact with other people. The way that he’d phrased and given me his thoughts on the HOPE (Healthy Organic Parkdale Edibles) Garden was great to see that the idea of social barriers was a topic of interest that’s being reversed to make Parkdale a welcoming community.

Last, but never the least the ‘Thank You’s” of all great Oscar speeches! Well maybe someday it’ll be for the Oscars but right now I’ll start with where I am ๐Ÿ™‚ Though we have more weeks ahead of us together, I’d like to thank all of the Youth Green Squad (Aparna, Becky, Dorjee, Miguel, Winston and Tenzin) members for making these past few weeks enjoyable! I would also like to thank Baasima, Emma, Lipiย  and Shariya for letting us have lunch in your office. More specifically I would like to thank Baasima, Emma and Shariya for giving me the opportunity to be apart of the YGS (Youth Green Squad) this year. In my opinion they are pretty awesome bosses. Especially Shariya for dealing with all of our cat jokes ๐Ÿ˜€

Well until next week I’ll leave you with an “Awkward Moment” ๐Ÿ˜›

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Tenzin Bhuti on July 24, 2011 at 3:17 am

    The salad was definitely one of the best salad I’ve ever had in my life !!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

