Workshop Frenzy

My favourite moment over the past two weeks was definitely the workshops. Over the two weeks we participated in quite a few workshops ranging from resume writing to food handling and even rights and safety in the workplace. I found these workshops to be very educational as well as entertaining. The workshop that I enjoyed the most was one about food handling. It taught me quite a few things about safe food practices and ways to avoid food poisoning. The presenter also made the topic quite entertaining and engaging for all of us. The stories that he shared with us especially his experiences with fast food made this workshop a highlight of my week.

Another workshop/activity that I enjoyed was painting our stories. In this activity we got the opportunity to make books and to keep a food journal. I really enjoyed making the books because I love reading and it was very interesting to see how the books are made. This whole process was completely new for me and let me express my creativity in a different way.

Apart from the workshops this week I also got to spend more time in the garden as well as the kitchen. The members of Sketch (an organization that works with street involved youth) showed me quite a few interesting things in their garden. They had a stevia plant which was a really sweet plant and tasted like vanilla and sugar. This plant was quite interesting and something that I had never seen before. They also shared with me another fruit that grew in their garden called arctic strawberries. These were just like strawberries but a much smaller version and a lot sweeter.

Finally, I would like to thank the West End Food Co-op for giving me and Dorjee the opportunity to help out at the farmer’s market. I really enjoy helping the farmers and getting to know them. This experience has also taught me a lot about farmer’s markets, how they work and what they do for the community. Thanks again to Cory and Ayal for giving me this opportunity.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Becky on July 26, 2011 at 1:50 am

    I love those arctic strawberries! They were soooo good!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

