First Job, First Blogspot!

Hey there everybody reading this blog. My name is Tenzin Bhuti and I am a Youth Green Squad (YGS) member of 2011 and this is my first blog (yayyy). I was born in India and immigrated to Toronto about 2 years ago with my family.

I joined the Youth Green Squad mainly to gain a first-hand workplace experience and to make new friends. This is my first job so it’s very exciting for me to be here and to work for a non-profit organization; Greenest City. I like cooking and also feel very passionate when it comes to dealing with the environment. Youth Green Squad had the perfect combination of both my interests and this landed me as a member of the YGS. I guess this is random but did you know that garlic scapes are cut off from the garlic plant so that the garlic plant can focus all their energy on the bulb.

My first week as a member of the Youth Green Squad was a complete change from my usual summer experiences. First of all I got to meet the other YGS members, which was great. We attended the Farmer’s market at Sorauren Park and learnt about various local food issues. The H.O.P.E (Healthy Organic Parkdale Edibles) garden hosted a potluck and we made a small contribution by making pasta with tomato and basil sauce (yumm…). I’m sure all the community members enjoyed it. One very important thing I learned is that food can bring definitely bring the community together and the proof of that was seen at the potluck. I am really looking forward to working with the other YGS members and I’m sure it will be a memorable experience.

In September, I will be in university studying Life Sciences and doing the best I can to reach my goal: Medical School. Wish me luck!

😀

4 responses to this post.

  1. I love the High-school Musical pics! P.S I did not know that you’re supposed to cut of the curly part of the garlic plant. Thank you for further developing my intellectual abilities on Garlic’s 😀

    Reply

  2. Posted by Tenzin Bhuti on July 16, 2011 at 2:06 pm

    hahah..thanks mithila 😀
    i’ll teach you more about garlics on monday !!
    ;D

    Reply

  3. Posted by swagking on November 21, 2012 at 11:06 pm

    This is totally cool i love the great job u guys are doing to preserve our motherland Earth… thanks for keeping it GREEN… go GREEN!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

