Winston

First sunflower in the youth garden Hi my name is Winston Jn Baptiste and I am 16 years old. I was born in Castries, St. Lucia; I’m raised in Canada. The things that I like about the Parkdale area is that there are a lot of interesting things to do and it’s never a dull moment. Another thing I like about the area is that it’s a welcoming place and easy to meet new friends and you will always have something in common with someone in less than a minute.

Another thing I did in the Parkdale area was join the Youth Green Squad (YGS).  It was a job offer a student teacher told me about before summer started. The reason why I joined (YGS) was because I really wanted some hands-on work experience. I decided to seize the opportunity and experience what it’s  like to work with an environmental organization. So far, it’s been pretty amazing to see what they actually do. Turns out that they do more than just gardening;they cook for other organizations and they also prepare potluck for kids, youths, and people of the Parkdale Community.

This summer I’ll be looking forward to meeting new people and learning new recipes. . The next thing I’m looking forward to is working with the Youth Green Squad because this is my first job and I am excited to see where things will go with me and my team-mates. Right now I’m still having trouble remember their names, but I’ll definitely memorize them during the next 6 weeks.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Becky on July 12, 2011 at 10:37 pm

    Great post and love the picture with the sunflower!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

